2019 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference women’s tennis championship

South Carolina State defeated Bethune-Cookman 4-1 at the Folkes-Stevens Tennis Center on Saturday to win the 2019 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference women’s tennis championship. The title is their first since 2017 and their 14th overall.

South Carolina State, the 2019 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) women's tennis champion, will head to Chapel Hill, N.C. to take on the No. 2 overall seed North Carolina Tar Heels in the first round of the 2019 NCAA Women's Tennis Championship.

The match will take place on Saturday at 1 p.m. at the Cone-Kenfield Tennis Center.

The Lady Bulldogs defeated Bethune-Cookman 4-1 this past Saturday to win the 2019 MEAC title - their first since 2017 and 14th overall. Hardeep Judge, the MEAC Coach of the Year, was named the tournament's Outstanding Coach, while Zainab Bendahhou - a First Team All-MEAC selection - was the Outstanding Performer.

North Carolina is 29-1 and the tournament's No. 2 seed for the third straight year.

The Lady Tar Heels defeated Duke on April 21 to win the ACC tournament title after going a perfect 14-0 in conference play.

SC State track teams to vie

for MEAC outdoor titles

South Carolina State will be one of 12 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference schools vying for the league’s 2019 outdoor track and field championships set for Thursday through Saturday (May 2-4) at the Irwin Belk Track Complex at North Carolina A&T in Greensboro, N.C.

The competition gets underway Thursday at 1 p.m. and at 9 a.m. on both Friday and Saturday. Saturday’s events will be streamed live by FloSports.

Coach Tim Langford’s SC State teams have qualified a total of 21 performers, including three relay teams, for the competition. Leading the way for the SC State men will be sprinters Tyrell Richard and Demek Kemp, who have recorded some of the top times in the world this year, long jumper Daniel Seawright and distance runners Tyler Duncan and Tyler Jeffers.

The strength for the SC State women will be in the field events, led by long jumper Breana Tyler, and throwers Keturah Hunter, Taylor Guthrie and Ariyonne Gillespie.

Host NC A&T is the defending champion in the men’s division, while Florida A&M won the women’s competition last year.  

SC State will be seeking its first men’s outdoor title since 1990 and its first women’s championship since 1988.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments