You have permission to edit this article.
SC STATE FOOTBALL: Two Bulldogs named All-Americans
breaking top story

SC STATE FOOTBALL: Two Bulldogs named All-Americans

  • Updated
  • 0

The top two teams in the BOXTOROW Coaches and Media Polls combined to place eight players on the 13th annual BOXTOROW All-America team.

SC STATE FOOTBALL: Pough, Fields receive MEAC season honors

Alcorn State and North Carolina A&T placed four players apiece on the team. The two teams will play in the Celebration Bowl on December 21 in Atlanta. The game kicks off the college bowl season and will once again decide this year’s HBCU national champion.

Bowie State and Florida A&M each placed three players on the team, while South Carolina State had two players. West Virginia State placed linebacker Dustin Crouser on the team. Crouser leads the nation in solo tackles (77) and ranks third in the nation in total tackles (132).

SC STATE FOOTBALL: Bulldogs had exciting 8-win season to share MEAC crown

A pair of teammates received the most votes on offense. Aggie running back Jah’Maine Martin leads the MEAC and is fourth in FCS in rushing yards per game (121.5), leads FCS in yards per carry (7.8), leads the MEAC and is sixth in FCS in rushing yards (1,336), leads MEAC and is third in FCS in rushing touchdowns (21), and is tied for second in FCS in scoring (11.5).

Aggie offensive lineman Marcus Pettiford was the MEAC Offensive Lineman of the Year and was voted to the BOXTOROW All-America team for the second year in a row, one of five players who have earned the distinction as previous BOXTOROW All-Americans.

Defensive linemen Tyrell Goodwin of South Carolina State and Darius Royster of North Carolina Central, the MEAC Defensive Player of the Year, along with defensive backs Bryan Mills of North Carolina Central and Demetri Morsel of Bowie State, all received the most votes on defense. Morsel recorded nine interceptions, three of which he returned for touchdowns, leading Bowie State to an 11-1 record.

The BOXTOROW superlative awards will be released on Monday, December 16. BOXTOROW has administered the All-America team since 2007 and the voters are media members from around the nation who cover HBCU football, including Times & Democrat sports editor Chris Clark.


QB: Felix Harper, Alcorn State, r-Jr., Fairburn, Ga.

RB: Jah’Maine Martin, North Carolina A&T, r-Jr., Conway

RB: Jordan Bentley, Alabama A&M, Sr., Guntersville, Ala.

OL: Marcus Pettiford, North Carolina A&T, r-Sr., Durham, N.C.$

OL: Keene Forbes, Florida A&M, r-Jr., Miami, Fla.

OL: Michael Ajumobi, Alcorn State, r-Jr., Dallas, Texas

OL: Alex Taylor, South Carolina State, r-Sr., Moncks Corner

OL: Dacquari Wilson, North Carolina A&T, Soph., Greensboro, N.C.

TE: Dushon David, Bowie State, Sr., Washington, D.C.

WR: Chris Rowland, Tennessee State, Sr., Nolensville, Tenn.

WR: Xavier Smith, Florida A&M, r-Soph., Haines City, Fla.


DL: Tyrell Goodwin, South Carolina State, Sr., Columbia

DL: Darius Royster, North Carolina Central, r-Sr., Chesapeake, Va.

DL: Demetrius Harris, Fort Valley State, r-Jr., Decatur, Ga.

DL: Joshua Pryor, Bowie State, r-Soph., Baltimore, Md.$

LB: Keonte Hampton, Jackson State, Soph., West Point, Miss.

LB: Solomon Muhammad, Alcorn State, Sr., Birmingham, Ala.

LB: Dustin Crouser, West Virginia State, Jr., Cross Lanes, W.V.

DB: Bryan Mills, North Carolina Central, Jr., Palmdale, Calif.

DB: Demetri Morsel, Bowie State, Soph., Upper Marlboro, Md.

DB: Qwynnterrio Cole, Alcorn State, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.$

DB: Joseph McWilliams, Grambling, r-Sr., Baton Rouge, La.$


P: Chris Faddoul, Florida A&M, Jr., West Chapel, Fla.$

PK: Noel Ruiz, North Carolina A&T, Jr., Wilson, N.C.

RS: Braxton Gambrell, Johnson C. Smith, Sr., Seneca

PR: Anthony Evelyn, Lane, Soph., Atlantic Beach, Fla.

KR: Braxton Gambrell, Johnson C. Smith, Sr., Seneca

Honorable Mention

QB: Ja’rome Johnson, Bowie State; Ryan Stanley, Florida A&M

RB: Stevie Green, Fayetteville State; Terraris Saffold, Central State

OL: Frank Ball, Virginia State; Jerimiah Abby, Southern; Jean Cyriaque, Morehouse$; Kenneth Kirby, Norfolk State; Aaron Scroggins, Miles; Lachavious Simmons, Tennessee State;

TE: Jordan Jones, Prairie View A&M

WR: Donnie Corley, Texas Southern; De’Montrez Burroughs, South Carolina State

DL: Marques Ford, Bethune-Cookman$; Marcus Cushine, Alabama A&M

LB: Nigel Chavis, Norfolk State; Rico Kennedy, Morgan State; Ian McBorrough, Morgan State; Durrell Nash, Saint Augustine’s

DB: Markquese Bell, Florida A&M; Daryus Skinner, Winston-Salem State; Sterling Hammond, Virginia Union$; Terry Jefferson. Florida A&M

P: Anthony Craven, Alabama State

RS: Chris Rowland, Tennessee State

KR: Jimmie Robinson, Bethune-Cookman

PR: Tyrin Ralph, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

$ = 2018 BOXTOROW All-American


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News