MARCH 13, 2016: Orangeburg Police Department, circa 1938

Pictured are the members of the Orangeburg Police Department around 1938. Front Row: Chief John W. Gillam, Capt. Tom Hall, Lt. George Dukes. Second Row: T.B. “Sonny” Williams, Dunk Nivens. Third Row: Bob Jeffords, Leland “Red” Wannamaker, Foster Boone, Joe Bates, John Henry Dantzler. Fourth Row: Tom Champy, Lt. Dreher Gaskins, Lt. Lonnie Wetherington, Buddy Brant, Carlisle Evans. Note the high boots on Sonny Williams and Dunk Nivens as they did their patrols on police motorcycles.

Production Manager

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.