You are the owner of this article.
Mayors, council members challenged in Calhoun, Orangeburg county races; Bamberg County filing ongoing
breaking top story

Mayors, council members challenged in Calhoun, Orangeburg county races; Bamberg County filing ongoing

Vote illustration

Four incumbent town mayors in The T&D Region will face opposition in the November general election while two other towns will be electing a new mayor.

Branchville Mayor Frank Dickson will face challenger Donald Connelly while Springfield Mayor Ed Furtick is being challenged by Adam Evans in the Nov. 5 election.

In Norway, Mayor Ann Johnson is being challenged by Tracie Clemons.

North Mayor Patty Carson did not file for re-election, meaning Andrew Gleaton Jackson and Julius Jones will be facing off in the general election to become the town's next mayor.

In Bowman, two are seeking the mayoral position: Aretha Allison and Patsy Rhett. Former Bowman Mayor Marion Glenn passed away earlier this year, leaving the seat vacant.

In Calhoun County, St. Matthews Mayor Helen Carson-Peterson will be facing challengers Donald White and Chris Smith.

A number of town council seats will also be contested:

• Bowman -- Four are trying to fill two council seats.

• Branchville -- Four are trying to fill three council seats.

• Holly Hill -- Two are vying for the council District 1 seat.

• North -- Three are vying for two seats.

• Springfield -- Six are running for four council seats.

• Woodford -- Three are running for two council seats.

Filing for November’s town elections closed Aug. 15 in Calhoun and Orangeburg counties.

The deadline for citizens seeking to register to vote in the election is Oct. 5.

Those filing for the Nov. 5 town elections, according to the South Carolina Election Commission, include:

Orangeburg County


• Aretha Allison, mayor

• Jessica Darnell, town council

• D.W. Felder, town council

• Shaquetta Pelzer, town council

• Patsy A. Rhett, mayor

• Michael L. Void, town council


• Frank Dickson, mayor

• Charles F. Dukes, town council

• Donald Connelly, mayor

• Thomas W. Connelly, town council

• Kenneth Hardee, town council

• Gregory Oliver, town council


• Janet S. Joye, mayor

• Darren Jump, town council

• Jean-Marie Jump, town council

• Marlene Workman, town council

• Will Workman, town council


• Chip Davis, town council District 3

• Lawrence Livingston, town council District 2


• Chris Barker, town council

• Harry Lee Brown, town council

Holly Hill

• Jan Wiles, town council District 2

• LeAnne Troutman, town council District 1

• Billy N. Chavis, town council District 1


• Corey Diggers, town council

• Bobby Gordon, mayor

• Maretta J. Linder, town council

• Arthur Sligh, town council

• Bobby Yongue, town council


• Julie Renee' Olenick, town council

• Kenneth Gleaton, mayor

• James E. Hoffman, town council

• Wylie Williams, town council

• Wanda H. Ammons, town council


• Wanda Whetstone, town council

• Jeff Washington, town council

• Andrew Gleaton Jackson, mayor

• Julius Jones, mayor

• Tonya M. Jeffcoat, town council


• Tracie Clemons, mayor

• Ann Johnson, mayor

• Gregg F. Covington, town council District 3


• Amber Heyward, town council

• Benjamin Boensch Sr., town council


• Francine B. Edwards, town council

• Adam Evans, mayor

• Ed Furtick, mayor

• Anne Green, town council

• Shelia Furguson Jamison, town council

• Lydia Lackey, town council

• Beth West, town council

• Olin A. Williams, town council


• Barbary Montgomery, town council

• Carolyn E. Bush, town council


• Andrea Clifton, town council

• Akwete Pettus, town council

• Norbia Pough, town council

Calhoun County

St. Matthews

• Webb Carroll, council District 2

• Helen Carson-Peterson, mayor

• Jerome Ford - council District 6

• Eloise Shuler-Guinyard, council District 4

• Chris Smith, mayor

• Donald White, mayor


• Gladys ELe’ Gardner-Simmons, town council

• Minnie L. Shuler-Haigler, town council

• David W. Summers Jr., mayor

Bamberg County

There will also be town elections in Govan and Ehrhardt in Bamberg County.

The filing for these elections started Aug. 12 and ends at noon Aug. 26. As of Aug. 16, no one has filed with the Bamberg County Election Commission for these positions.

Contact the writer: or 803-533-5516


Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Staff Writer

Bradley Harris is a Government and Sports Reporter. The Irmo, SC native is a 2018 graduate of Claflin University and recipient of the 2018 South Carolina Press Association Collegiate Journalist of the Year Award.

Related to this story

NEESES – Neeses Mayor Kenneth Gleaton presented a framed certificate in memory of the late Neeses youth baseball coach, Stephen Van Vlack Jr.,…

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News