Subscribe for 17¢ / day
LIBRARY vote illustration

Orangeburg voters will go to the polls on Tuesday to elect a mayor in a rematch of the election held four years ago.

Orangeburg County Voter Registration Director Aurora Smalls said the election will take place despite Hurricane Irma. Every polling location will be open.

“Since we can’t cancel the election, we won’t have the option to close any,” Smalls said.

Mayor Michael Butler is being challenged by former mayor Paul Miller, who he defeated four years ago.

In the City Council District 1 race, incumbent Richard Stroman is being challenged by Jim Johnson.

City Council District 3 incumbent Charles “Buddy” Barnwell is being challenged by Gene Gartman Jr. and Jerry Hannah.

L. Zimmerman Keitt’s term as the District 5 councilwoman is expiring. She filed for re-election and, since no one challenged her, she automatically won and her name will not appear on the ballot.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Voters who are blind, physically disabled or unable to read or write are entitled to assistance in casting their ballot.

Voters who are unable to enter their polling place due to physical handicap or are 65 years of age or older may vote from their vehicle. When notified, the polling location will help voters using a curbside voting provision.

Registered electors who cannot vote in person may be eligible to vote by absentee ballot. For more information, contact the county’s voter registration office at 803-533-6210.

The election office will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday.

At the polls, voters will be required to show one of the following forms of photo identification:

• S.C. driver’s license

• S.C. Department of Motor Vehicles ID card

• S.C. Voter Registration Card with photo

• Federal military ID

• U.S. passport

If you forget your photo ID, you may vote using a provisional ballot but must show an ID prior to the certification of the election.

People with a reasonable impediment to getting a photo ID can vote if they sign an affidavit stating why. Bring your non-photo voter registration card to the polling place.

Polling locations are:

• Ward 1: Orangeburg Arts Center (River Pavilion), 619 Riverside Drive

• Ward 2: Orangeburg County Chamber of Commerce, 155 Riverside Drive, SW

• Ward 3: Mellichamp Elementary School, 350 Murray Road

• Ward 4: Smith-Hammond-Middleton Memorial Center, 200 Buckley Street

• Ward 5: Zimmerman Youth Center, 759 Peasley Street

• Ward 6: Youth Canteen, 1620 Middleton St

• Ward 7: Sheridan Elementary School, 1139 Hillsboro Road

• Ward 8: William J. Clark Middle School, 919 Bennett Avenue

• Ward 9: Marshall Elementary School, 1441 Marshall Avenue

• Ward 10: Sheridan Elementary School, 1139 Hillsboro Road

• Suburban 1: Robert Howard Middle School, 1255 Belleville Road

• Suburban 3: Orangeburg Area Development Center (OADC), 1060 Pineland Street

• Suburban 4: Orangeburg Municipal Airport, 1811 Airport Road

• Suburban 8: Marshall Elementary School, 1441 Marshall Avenue

• Absentee / Barrier Free: Human Resource Center, 2570 St. Matthews Road

Contact the writer: or 803-533-5516.


Government Reporter

John Mack is a 2016 graduate of Claflin University. He is an Orangeburg native.

Load comments