Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Wright re-elected Denmark mayor
breaking editor's pick

Wright re-elected Denmark mayor


DENMARK – City of Denmark Mayor Gerald Wright has been re-elected.

Wright defeated challenger Deanna Miller Berry in a runoff, receiving 320 votes to Berry’s 270 votes.

It was announced that a runoff between Wright and Miller Berry would be held on Feb. 23 after the city’s Feb. 9 municipal election.

Election results from the Feb. 9 election showed Wright received 239 votes, and Berry received 225 votes.

Also on Feb.9, three candidates were elected to at-large city council seats.

Candidate Rosa Ray James received the most votes, with 242, to be elected to city council. Incumbents Jake Bookard and Bonnie Love were successfully re-elected, receiving 220 votes and 209 votes respectively.

Incumbent James Robinson lost his seat with 184 votes. Candidate Jasmine Ebron received 143 votes and candidate Chris Murray received 140 votes.

The runoff results will be made official Thursday at 10 a.m. in the Kearse Agricultural Building located in Bamberg.

Contact the writer: or 803-596-6530


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Staff Writer

Bradley Harris is a Government and Sports Reporter. The Irmo, SC native is a 2018 graduate of Claflin University and recipient of the 2018 South Carolina Press Association Collegiate Journalist of the Year Award.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News