A longtime council member has filed as a candidate for the upcoming Orangeburg City Council election.

Want to get a whole lot more from TheTandD.com?

Veteran Orangeburg City Councilman Bernard Haire officially filed as a candidate on July 2, seeking re-election to Council Seat 4.

Haire, who has served as a council member since 1988, faces two challengers, William Fairfax Jr. and William Bill Davis Jr.

Davis officially filed on July 1. According to his Facebook bio, Davis is currently a social studies teacher at Felton Laboratory School.

Claflin student files for Orangeburg City Council

Fairfax, who filed on June 24, is a senior at Claflin University majoring in political science.

Council districts 2 and 4 and are also up for election. Those seats are currently held by council members Charles Jernigan and Sandra Knotts.

Jack M. Grayton filed on June 25 and is seeking election to Council Seat 6. With the addition of Haire, there are now four candidates having filed.

Grayton files for Orangeburg council

City Council members recently changed the filing process, approving a change that requires all candidates to complete a statement of intention of candidacy with the Municipal Election Commission instead of filing a nominating petition.

The form can be completed at City Hall and must be accompanied with a filing fee of $150. Candidates have until noon July 8 to file.

People seeking to vote in the upcoming election must be registered by Aug. 10.

Filing starts for Orangeburg council election

The voter registration process can be completed at the Orangeburg County Voter Registration and Election Commission office at 1475 Amelia St., Orangeburg, or by visiting scvotes.org to find out how to register online.

Coming soon: Subscribe to our Politics email!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Contact the writer: bharris@timesanddemocrat.com or 803-533-5516


Staff Writer

Bradley Harris is a Government and Sports Reporter. The Irmo, SC native is a 2018 graduate of Claflin University and recipient of the 2018 South Carolina Press Association Collegiate Journalist of the Year Award.

Load comments