ILLUSTRATION: City Council chambers

Orangeburg City Council meets in the renovated building which once held the Orangeburg Fire Department.

Filing for Orangeburg City Council closed Monday, with residents now knowing the lineup of candidates for September's election.

Orangeburg County Chamber going through transition with volunteer leader

As of noon Monday, eight candidates had officially filed for the three seats, including the three current council members.

Council incumbents Charlie Jernigan, Bernard Haire and Sandra Knotts have filed, seeking re-election to council districts 2, 4 and 6 respectively.

City residents will head to the polls on Sept. 10.

Biden promises to restore the middle class; Candidate was in Orangeburg Saturday

Each incumbent will be facing at least one challenger:

  • Jernigan is being challenged by Kalu Kalu for the District 2 seat.

Jernigan has been a council member since 1999.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Kalu serves as a clinical pharmacist at the Regional Medical Center.

• Haire is being challenged by William Fairfax Jr., Connie Johnson and William Davis Jr.

Gardens boardwalk repairs to begin in July; Horne Wetlands Park in Orangeburg damaged by flood, Hurricane Matthew

Haire has been a council member since 1988.

Fairfax is a senior political science major at Claflin University. Johnson is an author.  Davis serves as a teacher at Felton Laboratory School.

• Knotts is being challenged by Jack Grayton.

Knotts has been a council member since 1993.

Want to get a whole lot more from TheTandD.com?

Citizens wanting to vote in the election must be registered by Aug. 10. The voter registration process can be completed at the Orangeburg County Voter Registration and Election Commission office at 1475 Amelia St., Orangeburg, or by visiting scvotes.org to find out how to register online.

Coming soon: Subscribe to our Politics email!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Contact the writer: bharris@timesanddemocrat.com or 803-533-5516


Staff Writer

Bradley Harris is a Government and Sports Reporter. The Irmo, SC native is a 2018 graduate of Claflin University and recipient of the 2018 South Carolina Press Association Collegiate Journalist of the Year Award.

Load comments