ST. MATTHEWS – Calhoun County Council unanimously approved the appointment of Ted Felder as county administrator during Monday’s council meeting.

Felder was named the interim administrator at the beginning of the year, after longtime administrator Lee Prickett retired in December 2018. Felder was deputy administrator of the county before Prickett’s retirement.

The interim tag was removed from Felder’s title on Monday, and he will assume all responsibilities associated with the position.

Felder’s contract spans two years and pays him $87,500 annually. His responsibilities will include executing the policies, directives and legislative action of the council; coordinating the operational agencies and administrative activities of the county government and coordinating economic development activities.

He also has the responsibility of managing all of the county’s departments, offices and institutions through the department heads.

Felder thanked council and said he is very happy to be serving the county.

He is a native of the county.

Felder was previously the Hardeeville city manager. Before that, Felder served as Hardeeville’s first director of economic development.

He also served six years as the Lowcountry district director for Congressman Joe Wilson and seven years as a lobbyist in Columbia working for Ogburn and Associates, Inc.

Council also approved the updated county organizational chart, noting the changes making Felder the county administrator and Denise Christmas the deputy administrator and chief financial officer.

Also during Monday’s meeting:

• The Recreation Committee gave a report during the meeting, noting that the pool located at the Calhoun Hills Golf Complex was filled and closed at the direction of the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control. The committee is looking into a proposed disc golf program at the golf complex. Plumbing issues at the golf complex were fixed.

• Calhoun County Director of Emergency Management David Chojnacki was presented the S.C Certified Emergency Manager plaque by Erik Hayes, the president of the S.C. Emergency Management Association. The plaque is presented to emergency management employees who achieve the standards set by the association.

• Council approved a proposal to develop a closure plan for the county landfill. The $15,600 cost will pay for a topographical survey of the landfill site, calculating the volume of the landfill and developing an engineering report specific to the landfill.

• Council approved a proposal to will develop a countywide map of the existing landfill centers located around the county. The $11,500 effort will include an assessment of the function of the centers, the current effectiveness of the centers and the locations of the centers in regards to the communities they serve.

• Council approved a motion to develop a water and wastewater pre-treatment plan that mirrors the plan of the City of Cayce. Calhoun County currently has its wastewater treated by the city.

• Council approved first reading by title only of three ordinances.

The first ordinance will change the county’s current multi-county industrial park agreement with Lexington County for future fees, and redirect how future fees are handled, Felder said. He also stated that the existing fees will be frozen by percentage instead of by millage on a year-to-year basis.

The second ordinance changes the rental fees for recreational facilities owned and operated by the county, and also adds additional facilities.

The third ordinance amends the zoning ordinance regarding solar projects or farms that are less than one acre in size or attached to a residential unit.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Contact the writer: bharris@timesanddemocrat.com or 803-533-5516


Staff Writer

Bradley Harris is a Government and Sports Reporter. The Irmo, SC native is a 2018 graduate of Claflin University and recipient of the 2018 South Carolina Press Association Collegiate Journalist of the Year Award.

Load comments