Try 1 month for 99¢

Orangeburg County voters will decide Tuesday on nine people to serve as board members for the new Orangeburg County School District in 2019.

The new district will combine the present Orangeburg consolidated school districts 3, 4 and 5.

The first seven trustees will be elected from single-member districts matching the Orangeburg County Council district lines. The eighth and ninth seats are at-large seats, meaning everyone in the county votes for those two trustees.

Seats 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9 will have four-year terms, while seats 2, 4, 6 and 8 will have two-year terms initially. The seats will all have four-year terms following the initial terms.

District 1

District 1 is represented on Orangeburg County Council by Chairman Johnnie Wright Sr. It includes Eutawville, Holly Hill and Vance. Four people are seeking the seat.

  • Johnny Broughton Jr. is a Eutawville resident and owner of Broughton Barber and Snack Shop in Eutawville.
  • Lawton Brown is a Vance native and longtime educator, having taught for more than 33 years at the former Holly Hill-Roberts High and then at Lake Marion.
  • Betty Macon Pelzer retired in 2015 after 31 years of teaching in OCSD3.
  • Dennis White is vice chairman of the OCSD3 school board. He is a pastor and owner of a trucking business.

District 2

District 2 is represented on Orangeburg County Council by Johnny Ravenell. It includes Bowman, Elloree, Santee and a portion of Orangeburg. Two candidates are seeking the seat.

  • Vernell Goodwin of Santee is chairwoman of the OCSD3 board.
  • Vernon Stephens of Bowman serves on the OCSD5 school board.

District 3

District 3 is represented on Orangeburg County Council by Harry Wimberly. It includes Branchville, Cope, Cordova, Rowesville and a portion of Orangeburg. Three candidates are seeking the seat.

  • Linda Huggins has worked in education for more than two decades. She is a former member of the OCSD4 school board.
  • William O’Quinn has practiced medicine in Branchville since 1975. He is a member of the OCSD4 board and served on the former District 8 school board.
  • Elaine Vincent of Orangeburg taught at Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College for more than 31 years.

District 4

District 4 is represented on Orangeburg County Council by Heyward Livingston. It includes Livingston, Neeses, North, Norway, Woodford and Springfield. Three candidates are seeking the seat.

  • Joyce Colter served as a teacher, guidance counselor, assistant principal and principal before retiring. She served on the former North School District 6 board and was a member of the Orangeburg County Board of Education for six years.
  • Susan Cade Gleaton of North has been an OCSD5 school board member since 2002.
  • Peggy James Tyler is an OCSD4 board member. Now retired, she has served as a teacher, guidance counselor, assistant principal, principal, adult education director and alternative school director.

District 5

District 5 is represented on Orangeburg County Council by Vice Chair Janie Cooper-Smith. It is an Orangeburg district. Three candidates are seeking the seat.

  • Bowman native Idella W. Carson worked in public education for 43 years, serving as a teacher and administrator. She serves on the OCSD5 school board.
  • Henry N. Jenkins Sr. serves on the OCSD5 school board and as secretary of the Orangeburg County Consolidation Transition Committee. He is a retired employee of OCSD5 with 33 years of service.
  • The Rev. Dr. Robert J. Johnson has worked in every level of the school system in positions including prinicipal, teacher and guidance counselor.

District 6

District 6 is represented on Orangeburg County Council by Ray Sabalis. Democratic nominee Deloris Frazier is unopposed for the Orangeburg-based council seat in Tuesday's election. Four candidates are seeking the seat.

  • Ruby Edwards retired in June as a guidance counselor at Whittaker Elementary School.
  • Kalu Kalu has lived in Orangeburg County since 1985 and has served as a clinical pharmacist at the Regional Medical Center since 1985.
  • Shirlan Mosley-Jenkins is a retired employee of OCSD4, where she spent more than three decades.
  • Dr. Albertha Sistrunk-Krakue of Orangeburg’s Edisto Drive community is a professional educator with more than 40 years of experience.

District 7

Orangeburg-based District 7 is represented by Willie B. Owens on County Council. Three candidates are seeking the seat.

  • Sam Farlow has been on the OCSD5 board for 11 years. He is a 30-year employee of the Orangeburg Department of Public Utilities.
  • Larry Jumper, a resident of the Four Holes community, owns Jumper Auto Parts in Orangeburg.
  • Bowman native Mary Berry Ulmer is chairperson of the OCSD5 board. She was a public school educator for 34 years. She serves as a Region 7 representative on the S.C. School Boards Association Board of Directors.

District 8

This is an at-large seat, meaning every voter in the county can cast a ballot for one of the six candidates.

  • R.L. "Poppy" Brown of Vance is pastor of Target AME Church in Holly Hill.
  • Joseph Garvin of Springfield has been on the OCSD4 board for 26 years. He owns Garvin's Community Store in Springfield.

  • Teresa Hinnant of Eutawville is a former teacher and director of special services for OCSD3. She owns an embroidery business called Stitched to a T.

  • Kenita D. Pitts is student services program coordinator at S.C. State University. She serves as staff senate president and as an ex-officio member of the university board. She has worked in education in positions including assistant to the principal.

  • Aaron Rudd has served nearly half a century as a school board member and is presently chairman of the OCSD4 board.

  • Antron T. Williams of Rowesville is a conservationist who works in St. Matthews full time for the USDA. He is also a farmer. He completed a student teaching experience at Lake Marion High School in agricultural education.

District 9

This is an at-large seat, meaning every voter in the county can cast a ballot for one of the four candidates.

  • Debora B. Brunson of Orangeburg retired in June after 45 years in education as a teacher, school counselor, assistant principal, principal and district office director.
  • Gene Gartman Jr. retired from the U.S. Army after 20 years and is a former veteran outreach program coordinator with the state Department of Employment and Workforce. He works with the Dalton House for Veterans and Nonveterans as marketing and outreach director.
  • Anna S. Jacobs of Orangeburg is a retired public school educator with more than 41 years of experience, 25 as a teacher and 16 at the school and district level as an administrator.
  • Laurie Sibley of Orangeburg has been a public school teacher and serves as a volunteer at Brookdale, Marshall and Sheridan elementary schools in Orangeburg.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Contact the writer: or 803-533-5534. Follow "Good News with Gleaton" on Twitter at @DionneTandD.


Load comments