OCSD3 Teachers

Orangeburg Consolidated School District 3’s teachers of the year are, from left, Tyra Johnson, Elloree Elementary; Chanel Murray, Holly Hill Elementary; Dr. Alfriciquea Major, Holly Hill-Roberts Middle; RaShawn Fogle, Lake Marion High School and LaShanda Aiken, Vance-Providence Elementary. Not pictured is St. James-Gaillard Elementary Teacher of the Year Sierra Brown.

HOLLY HILL - Orangeburg Consolidated School District 3 announced the names of its teachers of the year in area schools for this academic year during the board of trustees' May meeting.

This year’s honorees are: Tyra Johnson, Elloree Elementary; Chanel Murray, Holly Hill Elementary; Dr. Alfriciquea Major, Holly Hill-Roberts Middle; RaShawn Fogle, Lake Marion High; LaShanda Aiken, Vance-Providence Elementary; and Sierra Brown, St. James-Gaillard Elementary.

The Teacher of the Year for the entire district will be chosen from among these distinguished educators.

Also during the meeting, the trustees approved second readings of several policy changes. The changes were required by recent changes in federal law and state education policy procedures.

The policies included those dealing with district wellness; competitive food sales/vending machines; foundations and basic commitments; school board governance; general school board administration; facilities planning and development; and education agency relations.

Superintendent Dr. Jesulon Gibbs-Brown thanked staff members for their contributions to the success of the district’s recently concluded accreditation effort.

She also reported she had met with food service companies to begin preliminary discussions about possible changes to product purchases in the district.

In addition, Gibbs-Brown reported that she recently wrote and distributed a memo to district personnel as part of an effort to address concerns about teachers' aides who serve as “shadows” with individual students. The concerns arose when the shadows were being shifted away from their duties to assist with other aspects of classroom management, she said.

The memo sought to make clear that aids who serve as shadows to students should never be “pulled aside to serve in some other capacity,” unless the student to whom they are assigned is not present on a particular day, the superintendent noted.

Board members approved a variety of field trips for various students during the meeting as well. These included trips to:

  • Carowinds for members of the Lake Marion High School JROTC
  • Carowinds for LMHS seniors
  • Fort Jackson for LMHS JROTC cadets to participate in an annual training program
  • Atlanta for a competition for Junior Beta Club members from Holly Hill Elementary and St. James-Gaillard Elementary
  • Baltimore, Maryland for Elloree Elementary students who will participate in FBLA competition
  • Clemson University summer football camp for LMHS football players
  • Atlanta, Georgia for students in grades 10-12 at LMHS who participate in Family, Career and Community Leaders of America

Operations Manager Gerald Wright reported the district received approval from the U.S. Department of Agriculture to proceed with the installation of security cameras and other technology improvements at the schools, as well as the demolition of the old Holly Hill Elementary School building that burned earlier this year

Board members also discussed scheduling options for the 2018-19 academic year, developments in curriculum and instruction practices and the plans for summer school.

The OCSD3 Board of Trustees' next regular meeting will be at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday, June 12.

Contact the writer: gwh903@yahoo.com.


Load comments