LIBRARY graduation illustration

College of Charleston commencement

CHARLESTON -- The College of Charleston celebrated Spring 2019 Commencement with three ceremonies on May 10 and 11. The following local students were among more than 1,700 bachelor's degree and master's degree candidates who participated in the iconic annual event in the College's historic Cistern Yard:

  • Sarah Temple, of Bamberg, who graduated with a bachelor of arts in public health.
  • Barbara Barger, of Cordova, who graduated with a bachelor of science in accounting/business administration.
  • Lindsey Guerry, of Cross, who graduated with a bachelor of science in elementary education.
  • Aliyah Anderson, of Orangeburg, who graduated with a bachelor of arts in music.
  • Gerelisa Eisele, of Orangeburg, who graduated cum laude with a bachelor of science in public health.
  • Sade Eley, of Orangeburg, who graduated with a bachelor of arts in communication.
  • Lawrence Hickson, of Orangeburg, who graduated with a bachelor of science in marketing.
  • Jasmine Jenkins, of Orangeburg, who graduated with a bachelor of science in public health.
  • Kelsey Racey, of Orangeburg, who graduated with a bachelor of science in public health.
  • Viveke Rai, of Orangeburg, who graduated with a bachelor of science in biology.
  • Taleyah Boyd, of St. George, who graduated with a bachelor of science in public health.
  • Thomas Wilsey, of Santee, who graduated with a bachelor of arts in history.

Mercer University master's

ATLANTA -- Mercer University conferred bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees to more than 2,200 students representing 12 schools and colleges at four ceremonies during May in Macon and Atlanta.

Karen Marshall of Orangeburg received a master of science.

USC-Aiken honors

AIKEN -- The University of South Carolina Aiken announced the President's List for spring 2019.

To earn the distinction, students must be enrolled full-time and maintain a GPA of at least 4.0.

The list includes:

  • Ashley Ayer of Branchville, nursing-R.N.
  • Shelby Bell of Springfield, elementary education
  • Candace Davis of Denmark, business administration
  • Carol Dunlap of Cope, special education
  • Sharon Dyches of Cope, special education
  • Keith McBride of Denmark, mathematics and computer science
  • Christopher Seigler of Blackville, industrial process engineering
  • Santanna Templeton of Orangeburg, early childhood education

On the USC Aiken Dean’s List for the spring are:

  • Hannah Bilton of Orangeburg, nursing
  • Amber Byrd of St. George, elementary education
  • Campbell Crook of St. George, clinical laboratory science
  • Delilah Daigle of Orangeburg, early childhood education
  • Catherine Garvin of Springfield, exercise and sports science
  • Grayson Goodwin of Orangeburg, nursing
  • Katrina Hutson of Blackville, nursing
  • Kelli Hutto of Bamberg, exercise and sports science
  • Monique Johnson of North, business administration
  • Katelyn Kinard of Bamberg, exercise and sports science
  • Angela Plemmons of Vance, biology
  • Quentin Thomas of Cameron, nursing-R.N.
  • Meghann Williams of North, biology
  • Anna Wingard Cocke of Orangeburg, nursing-R.N.
  • Taliyah Wise of North, nursing

Newberry Dean’s List

NEWBERRY -- The following T&D Region students have been named to the Newberry College Dean's List for the Spring 2019 semester.

Students named to the Dean's List have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scadel for the semester.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

  • Harthe Dufford Blankenship, Branchville
  • Chandler Lawrence Boltin, Orangeburg
  • Ashlie Summer Brickle, Cope
  • Wei Chen, Orangeburg
  • Autumn Nicole Fountain, Holly Hill
  • Calesta Paige Grooms, Eutawville
  • Tradd Carson Proctor, Orangeburg
  • Lauren Brooke Teague, Orangeburg

Presbyterian Dean’s List

The Dean’s List at Presbyterian College is composed of students who have earned between a 3.3 and a 3.9 grade point average.

The list for the spring 2019 semester includes:

  • Jalen Lamar Darby, Orangeburg
  • Margaret Riley Frierson, Orangeburg
  • Jonathan Thomas Williams, Bamberg

Voorhees student named Competitiveness Scholar

DENMARK -- Voorhees College junior Denzel Walls has been named a 2019 Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) Competitiveness Scholar by the White House Initiative on Historically Black Colleges and Universities.

The HBCU Competitiveness Scholars is the initiative’s highest student recognition program. As a scholar, Walker will attend the 2019 National HBCU Week from Sept. 8-11 in Washington. This year’s theme is “Enhancing HBCU Competiveness: Student Achievement. Quality Partnerships. Institutional Performance.”

“Since I came to Voorhees, my educational journey has really taken off. I am highly involved in various activities and programs that has allowed my leadership skills to flourish. This opportunity proves that hard work and dedication does pay off. I would like to thank Voorhees for continuing to mold my education and career paths,” Walls said.

Walls is a junior majoring in business administration from Springfield, Ga.

Voorhees launches paid internship scholars program

DENMARK -- Seven Voorhees College students were selected to participate in the inaugural cohort of the 2019 Voorhees College Paid Internship Program (VC-PISP).

The internship placements are challenging work opportunities related to the student’s major or intended career that force students to reflect and integrate college learning in the professional world.

According to the internship facilitators, VC--PISP operates based on best practices in guided career pathways and includes four foci that work in tandem: (1) career internship program stipends, (2) career services and resources and professional development, (3) domestic and abroad career and cultural study, and (4) career consultant engagement. Direct student funding includes: career mentorship and consultation, professional attire, graduate/professional school application and examination fees, paid internships, and iPad technology.

The seven students are: William Robinson, Denzel Walls, MaShayla Brown, Philita Wing, Jamel Lawton, and Patrick Rollins and Courtney Bradford.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments