Claflin's Tingley Hall

Historic Tingley Hall is the administration building at Claflin University, the state's oldest HBCU.

Claflin University on Monday will name a president to succeed the retiring Dr. Henry N. Tisdale.

Tisdale: 'The world is calling on you’; Claflin president encourages grads before retirement

In an advisory to media, the university stated a press conference will be held at noon to make the announcement.

The Tisdales: 25 years of progress for Claflin

Selection of a new president for the state’s oldest historically black institution of higher learning comes during the university’s 150th anniversary year and ahead of the Tisdale retirement on June 30 after 25 years at the helm. The president announced in April 2018 that he would be retiring.

First lady's legacy: Tisdale team forges creative change at Claflin

At the time of the Tisdale announcement, Claflin trustee Chairman James Bennett said the process of looking for a new president would involve a national search.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

"The time is ample in order to go forward with a national search for a candidate. And candidates could be local. We could have someone right here at Claflin University, but we've made the decision to do a national search," the board chairman said then.

In October 2018, Claflin retained AGB Search to lead the search. Founded by the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges in 2010, AGB Search is the only firm that specializes in all aspects of executive search exclusively for higher education institutions.

Want to get a whole lot more from TheTandD.com?

The Presidential Search Committee is chaired by trustee Calvin Elam. The panel includes representatives of the board of trustees, faculty, staff, student body, Claflin University International Alumni Association, board of visitors and the public sector.

In addition to Elam, president of Elam Financial Group of Columbia, the search committee includes from the board of trustees: the Rev. Dr. Robin Dease, Dr. Belinda Gergel, William Johnson, James Lehman, the Rev. Dr. Albert Shuler and Bennett.

Other members include faculty representative Dr. Belinda Wheeler, associate professor of English and faculty representative to the board of trustees; student body representative Kayla Hodges, 2018-19 student government president; staff representative Ashley Schofield, Claflin’s controller; Claflin International Alumni Association representative Gerald Mackey, a 1974 graduate and financial secretary of the CUIAA; Thelma Hudson, a 1973 Claflin graduate and chair of the board of Visitors, and public sector representative Robert Jennings, vice president for medical sales and marketing at Zeus Industrial Products.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments