Try 1 month for 99¢
Mid Carolina shooters win Governor's Cup

Bernie Till coaches the Mid Carolina Gun Club youth champions. Shooters leading the team to the Governor's Cup were Caden Bartlett, Eastover; Cody Carroll, Walterboro; Carter Hinson, Columbia; Rich and Tangie McFee, Latta; Connor Mills, Lexington; Wyatt Peay, Bamberg; Madison Sharpe, North; Jacob Todd, Irmo, and Gracie Woelffer, Fort Mill.

The Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation and National Rifle Association Competitive Shooting Sports division announce the 2018 SSSF/NRA All Scholastic Team, which includes Madison Sharpe of North.

Sharpe, who attends Orangeburg Prep, competes with the Mid Carolina Gun Club. She is joined on the All Scholastic Team by Conner Mills of Lexington and River Bluff High School.

The All Scholastic Team recognizes student athletes involved in the Scholastic Clay Target Program and Scholastic Action Shooting Program for their accomplishments in the classroom, in their communities and on the range.

Through an application process, 2018 All Scholastic Team Members have proven academic excellence by posting 3.0 or better grade-point averages, shooting excellent scores in recent competition (95 percent in trap or skeet, 85 percent in sporting clays, 88 percent in international or 75 seconds or less for SASP) and by demonstrating outstanding community involvement.

Other All Scholastic Team members from South Carolina are: Ben Kinney, Jessica Knox, Brad Lehman, Elissa Rodgers, Mills Thomas and Johnathan Weatherford.

Sharpe says of her shooting experience: “I have been shooting for six years and SCTP has shown me how to grow in this sport. I have not only become a

better athlete, but also a better person in general. It has taught me respect, commitment and to strive for excellence.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments