Santee Water Park (copy)

The Santee YMCA Water Park is the perfect place to cool off during the summer. There's also a water park in Orangeburg.

Orangeburg County’s children, adults and visitors have two waterparks where they can cool off and have some fun when it gets a little too warm.

The Orangeburg County Aquatic Park on St. Matthews Road in Orangeburg opened to the public in 2010.

It features two family fun slides, a bowl slide, a rain drop fall, a spider spray, a lazy river, a zero-depth pool, a tot pool with slide, a group pavilion and a full service snack bar.

The Santee Water Park on Bass Drive opened in 2015.

It has a zero-entry pool with fountains and spray jets for kids to run through, as well as a large, twisting water slide. It also has a huge swimming pool and athletic fields.

Both centers were built by Orangeburg County with proceeds from the 1 percent capital projects sales tax. The YMCA manages them for the county.

The waterparks will initially open their doors for the “preseason” during Memorial Day weekend. They will close thereafter, and officially open for the summer from June 7 and to Aug. 12.

Preseason dates for the Orangeburg waterpark are May 25 and 26. The preseason dates for the Santee Park are May 25-27.

Waterpark rules require all individuals under 48 inches tall to wear a life jacket at all times, regardless of swimming abilities.

Lifejackets are available on-site, according to YMCA officials.

All children under age 12 must have a parent or guardian on premises with them at all times, and all guests must wear appropriate swimming attire at all times.

Be the first to know - Sign up for Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Contact the writer: bharris@timesanddemocrat.com, or 803-533-5516


Staff Writer

Bradley Harris is a Government and Sports Reporter. The Irmo, SC native is a 2018 graduate of Claflin University and recipient of the 2018 South Carolina Press Association Collegiate Journalist of the Year Award.

Load comments