If the number seven is supposed to stand for good luck and fortune, it was anything but that for most teams in The T&D Region in Week 7.

Out of the 14 teams who faced non-T&D Region teams last week, only three (Woodland, Denmark-Olar and Andrew Jackson Academy) were victorious.

The lone matchup of T&D Region teams saw Bamberg-Ehrhardt defeat Calhoun County to earn win number 100 for Red Raiders head coach Kevin "Butch" Crosby.

Add that contest to the mix and T&D Region teams were only 4-12 last week, losing by an average margin of 28.3 points.

This does not include the North Eagles, who were forced to forfeit last Friday’s game against Wagener-Salley due to a lack of players. This marked the 32nd consecutive loss for the Eagles, the longest active losing streak in South Carolina.

Ironically, the War Eagles were the last team that North defeated, in a game played on Oct. 3, 2014.

Simply put, Week 8 play cannot come soon enough.

Salt in the collective wound was added this past Sunday. No player from a T&D Region team was selected to participate in the 81st annual Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas (see roster below), set for Dec. 16 at Gibbs Stadium in Spartanburg.

Barring substitution for injury, this will mark the first time in recent memory no T&D Region player will participate in the contest, which features the top seniors in South and North Carolina. Players for the 68th annual North-South All-Star Football Game to be held in Myrtle Beach on Dec. 10 will be announced soon.

TEAM OF THE WEEK - Bamberg-Ehrhardt

The Red Raiders had the most dominant win among T&D Region teams in a 62-7 rout of Calhoun County on Friday.


James Guinyard (Bamberg-Ehrhardt) - 3 touchdowns (rushing, punt return, fumble recovery)

Caleb Crosby (Calhoun Academy) - 235 rushing yards, 2 TDs

Weston Davis (Calhoun Academy) - 11 tackles

Dentel Nelson (Denmark-Olar) - 8 carries, 70 yards, 2 TDs, 8 tackles, forced fumble

Lance Brownlee (Dorchester Academy) - 19-for-29 passing, 274 yards, 4 TDs, 39 yards rushing, TD

Rhett Mizzell (Dorchester Academy) - 7 receptions, 78 yards, 2 TDs, 45-yard passing TD

Brody Marchant (Dorchester Academy) - 6 receptions, 128 yards, TD, 8 tackles

Jack Berry (Dorchester Academy) - 9 tackles

Ray Ryant (Edisto) - 3 receptions, 70 yards, TD, 2 tackles, interception

Shakelle Williams (Edisto) - 9 tackles

Brandon Antley (Edisto) - 8 tackles

Nick Strickland (Holly Hill Academy) - 14-21 passing, 175 yards

Even Boyd (Holly Hill Academy) - 9 receptions, 103 yards

Tymell Grant (Lake Marion) - 24 carries for 327 yards, 3 TDs, 2 two-point conversions, 4-for-6 passing for 47 yards


Six different players scored touchdowns for Bamberg-Ehrhardt against Calhoun County … Bamberg-Ehrhardt has recorded four shutouts this season and held opponents to an average of 4.6 points a game. Now comes the meat of the Red Raiders' region schedule ... Lake Marion has lost six games this season via shutout and is on a 13-game losing streak


“It’s a blessing. We just commend those guys that have been in this program that contributed to 100 wins. A lot of times we thought we were down and out and people thought we lost a lot, but we found a way to win. It’s because of the kids and their hard work, it’s nothing that we or I’ve done. It’s all by the grace of God and the young men He’s blessed us to have in this program. I’m just thankful that God gave me this opportunity and I’m just enjoying the life and hope we can continue and try to win a state championship in Bamberg,” -- Bamberg-Ehrhardt head football coach Kevin Crosby following his 100th career win.


Coach Dave Gutshall of Dorman High School will lead the S.C. team in the game on Dec. 16 at 2 p.m. from Gibbs Stadium at Wofford College in Spartanburg.

The 44 S.C. Sandlappers players are as follows: Eli Adams DE South Pointe; Alec Blackmon OL Newberry; Gunner Britton OL Conway; Kelijiha Brown DT Saluda; Wyatt Campbell OL Lugoff-Elgin; KD Canaty OL Northwestern; Austin Covan LS Dorman; Damion Daley DL Ridge View; Alex Deal OL Boiling Springs; Mataeo Durant RB McCormick; Tyler Gore WR/DB North Myrtle Beach; Sam Hartman QB Oceanside Collegiate; Adam Henderson DL Berea; Jackson Hutto OL Summerville; Trajan Jeffcoat LB Irmo; Khalid Jones LB Byrnes; Dakereon Joyner QB Fort Dorchester; Zion Keith DB Wilson; Derion Kendrick QB South Pointe; Hank Manos OL Chapin; Sokoya McDuffie DL South Florence; Jordan McFadden OL Dorman; Tre Moore DL Strom Thurmond; Raiqwon O’Neal OL/TE Conway; Jermaine Patterson WR Bluffton; Braylon Peterson DB T.L. Hanna; Sam Pinckney WR Greenwood; Chance Poore K/P Westside; Tyquan Porter DB Dillon; Tajh Reid-Stanley DB York; Cameron Rice RB Gaffney; Elijah Rodgers DB Blacksburg; Darius Rush WR C.E. Murray; Connor Shugart LB Spartanburg; Christopher Simon DL Crestwood; Dennis Smith WR Gaffney; Bradley Thompson OL Greer; Bryce Thompson WR Dutch Fork; Channing Tindall LB Spring Valley; Jake Venables LB Daniel; Nathan Walker LB Cross; Quavian White DB Greer; Justin Williams WR Fort Dorchester; Tyrek Williams LB Strom Thurmond.

S.C. Prep Media Football Poll

Oct. 10

  • Class 5A - 1. Fort Dorchester (14), 2. T.L. Hanna, 3. Dutch Fork, 4. Spring Valley, 5. Byrnes, 6. Spartanburg, 7. Sumter, 8. Conway, 9. Greenwood, 10. Summerville. Receiving votes: Dorman.
  • Class 4A - 1. South Pointe (14), 2. North Myrtle Beach, 3. Hartsville, 4. North Augusta, 5. South Aiken, 6. Belton-Honea Path, 7. Greer, 8. Greenville, 9. Berkeley, 10. York. Receiving votes: Beaufort, Cane Bay, Chapin.
  • Class 3A - 1. Chapman (13), 2. Dillon (1), 3. Newberry, 4. Gilbert, 5. Chester, 6. (tie) Manning and Timberland, 8. Walhalla, 9. Broome, 10. Fairfield Central. Receiving votes: Brookland-Cayce, Bluffton, Pendleton, Aynor, Emerald, Strom Thurmond, Bishop England.
  • Class 2A - 1. Abbeville (9), 2. Barnwell (5), 3. Carvers Bay, 4. Cheraw, 5. Bamberg-Ehrhardt, 6. Lee Central, 7. Southside Christian, 8. Saluda, 9. Andrews, 10. Chesterfield. Receiving votes: Buford, Latta, Liberty, Central.
  • Class A - 1. Lamar (14), 2. Hemingway, 3. Lake View, 4. Lewisville, 5. Williston-Elko, 6. Baptist Hill, 7. C.E. Murray, 8. Wagener-Salley, 9. Timmonsville, 10. Dixie. Receiving votes: Scotts Branch, Bethune-Bowman, Ridge Spring-Monetta, McCormick, Hannah-Pamplico, Cross.

Voters: Chris Dearing, The State; Bret McCormick, The Herald; Lou Bezjak, The State; Joe Hughes, The Sun News; Tyler Cupp, WPUB radio; Travis Jenkins, Chester News Reporter; Jed Blackwell, Spartanburg Herald-Journal; Bob Castello, Greenville News; Chris Burgin, 100.1 The Fan; Eric Russell, Aiken Standard; Scott Chancey, (Florence) The Morning News; Chris Clark, (Orangeburg) The Times and Democrat; Dennis Brunson, (Sumter) The Item; David Roberts, (Greenwood) The Index-Journal; David Shelton, (Charleston) The Post and Courier; Lake Morris, (Anderson) Independent Mail.

Thomas Grant Jr. reported on The T&D Region sports scene for two decades as a Times and Democrat staffer. In 2014, he became sports editor of The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News in Lexington.


Load comments