A challenging regular season in the T&D Region still finished with 10 of the 16 teams making the postseason bracket play.

The opening week has Class 2A top seed Bamberg-Ehrhardt and St. George second seeds Woodland and Dorchester Academy as the lone teams opening at home.

Andrew Jackson Academy - the defending SCISA 8-man Division II champion - earned a first-round bye and will await their semifinal opponent for a Nov. 10 game. They will face the winner of Clarendon Hall at Richard Winn Academy.

Meanwhile, two T&D Region road teams head to familiar places to open playoffs. After snapping a 20-year playoff drought with two road wins last postseason, Orangeburg-Wilkinson faces Hartsville in playoffs for the third time in four years, with the Bruins seeking their first win in the series.

For the second straight year, Hunter-Kinard-Tyler travels to Whitmire to open the playoffs. Last year, the Trojans edged the Wolverines 44-42 in overtime.

TEAM OF THE WEEK - Bethune-Bowman

The Mohawks have not only matched last year's six-win total, but own the distinction of being Orangeburg County's only public school to finish the regular season with a winning record.


Trey Pulaski (Andrew Jackson Academy) - 207 rushing yards, 4 TDs

Bailey Ackerman (Andrew Jackson Academy) - 155 rushing yards

Colyn Peek (Andrew Jackson Academy) - 89 rushing yards, 2 TDs

Jordan Lee (Andrew Jackson Academy) - 12 tackles

A.J. Williams (Bamberg-Ehrhardt) - 2 rushing TDs

Braxton Wedgeworth (Bethune-Bowman) - 177 rushing yards, 2 TDs

Makiah Simmons (Bethune-Bowman) - 168 rushing yards, 4 TDs

Torrion Stevenson (Branchville) - 134 rushing yards, 3 TDs

Lance Brownlee (Dorchester Academy) - 15-for-20 passing, 207 yards, 4TDs, 83 rushing yards, TD

Colby Weeks (Dorchester Academy) - 96 rushing yards, 2 TDs, 5 receptions, 84 yards

Rhett Mizzell (Dorchester Academy) - 4 receptions, 47 yards, 3 TDs

Weston Davis (Calhoun Academy) - 8 tackles

Willie Brown (Calhoun County) - 6 receptions, 121 yards

Even Boyd (Holly Hill Academy) - 3 receptions, 102 yards, TD, interception returned for TD, 13 tackles

Bill Metts (Orangeburg Prep) - 13 tackles

Matheson Wannamaker (Orangeburg Prep) - 9 tackles


Bamberg-Ehrhardt head football coach Kevin Crosby was named Class 2A Lower State Coach of the Year by the S.C. Football Coaches Association. Crosby led the Red Raiders to their second straight Region 5-2A title and reached the 100-win mark for his career in his 10th season. He will be honored at the Nov. 30 SCFCA banquet at Seawell's in Columbia.


Andrew Jackson Academy owns South Carolina's longest winning streak at 35 games. This marked the third consecutive undefeated regular season for the program... Despite missing the playoffs, Orangeburg Prep posted back-to-back winning seasons for the first time since 2012-13... North ended the regular season carrying the Palmetto State's active record of 34 straight losses. It was also their third straight winless season. Opponents outscored North 429-16 this season and scored 313 unanswered points in the final seven games... Lake Marion gave up 50 or more points in three straight games and suffered six shutouts this season.

S.C. Prep Media Football Poll

Bamberg-Ehrhardt is the lone T&D Region team listed in the final regular-season rankings of the S.C. Prep Media Football Poll, released on Tuesday, Oct. 31. The Red Raiders are No. 3 in Class 2A.

Class 5A

1. Fort Dorchester (13)

2. T.L. Hanna

3. Dutch Fork

4. Conway

5. Spring Valley

6. Dorman

7. Sumter

8. Summerville

9. Hillcrest

10. Gaffney

Receiving votes: Greenwood, Byrnes, Spartanburg.

Class 4A

1. South Pointe (13)

2. North Myrtle Beach

3. Hartsville

4. North Augusta

5. Greer

6. Berkeley

7. Greenville

8. South Aiken

9. Belton-Honea Path

10. York

Receiving votes: Cane Bay, Eastside, Lower Richland.

Class 3A

1. Chapman (12)

2. Dillon (1)

3. Gilbert

4. Newberry

5. Timberland

6. Fairfield Central

7. Chester

8. Broome

9. Emerald

10. Walhalla

Receiving votes: Brookland-Cayce, Seneca, Pendleton, Strom Thurmond, Manning, Bluffton.

Class 2A

1. Abbeville (13)

2. Carvers Bay

3. Bamberg-Ehrhardt

4. Lee Central

5. Barnwell

6. Saluda

7. Andrews

8. Chesterfield

9. Southside Christian

10. Cheraw

Receiving votes: Blacksburg, Central, Latta.

Class 1A

1. Lamar (13)

2. Hemingway

3. Williston-Elko

4. C.E. Murray

5. Lake View

6. Baptist Hill

7. Lewisville

8. Wagener-Salley

9. Ridge Spring-Monetta

10. Cross

Receiving votes: Timmonsville, McCormick, Dixie, Hannah-Pamplico.

Voters: Chris Dearing, The State; Bret McCormick, The Herald; Lou Bezjak, The State; Joe Hughes, The Sun News; Tyler Cupp, WPUB radio; Travis Jenkins, Chester News Reporter; Jed Blackwell, Spartanburg Herald-Journal; Bob Castello, Greenville News; Chris Burgin, 100.1 The Fan; Eric Russell, Aiken Standard; Scott Chancey, (Florence) The Morning News; Chris Clark, (Orangeburg) The Times and Democrat; Dennis Brunson, (Sumter) The Item; David Roberts, (Greenwood) The Index-Journal; David Shelton, (Charleston) The Post and Courier; Lake Morris, (Anderson) Independent Mail.

Thomas Grant Jr. reported on The T&D Region sports scene for two decades as a Times and Democrat staffer. In 2014, he became sports editor of The Lexington County Chronicle and The Dispatch-News in Lexington.


Load comments