MAY 1, 2016: Berry’s on the Hill Restaurant, circa 1960

Berry’s on the Hill restaurant was an Orangeburg fixture for many years. Mrs. Willie Berry started this iconic restaurant in 1946 on Summers Avenue across from the hospital, but moved to the new John C. Calhoun Drive thoroughfare in 1956 as seen above. Her restaurant was widely known along the entire east coast. The quality and tastefulness of the food served there was lauded far and wide.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.