Six exceptional visionary leaders received Presidential Citations during Claflin University's 148th Founders' Day Convocation on Nov. 19 in the Tullis Arena of the Jonas T. Kennedy Health and Physical Education Center.

Orangeburg Mayor Michael C. Butler, '83, was among the honorees who received the prestigious award from Claflin President Henry N. Tisdale. Butler was recognized for his accomplishments as the first African-American mayor of Orangeburg. Butler also serves as a role model for civic engagement and is a staunch advocate of human rights and social justice.

Rosa Kennerly-Dance, '71, was honored for her exemplary leadership as president of the Orangeburg Chapter of the Claflin University International Alumni Association and her untiring support of fundraising efforts that provide financial assistance to deserving Claflin students.

Kenneth Middleton was cited for his commitment to improving the lives of Orangeburg residents and for his dynamic leadership as chairman of the Orangeburg County Development Commission Board of Directors.

Michael Moore, president and CEO of the International African American Museum in Charleston, was honored for his unwavering commitment and dedication in spearheading the construction of the International African-American Museum. Moore was the keynote speaker for Claflin's Founders' Day Convocation. The groundbreaking ceremony for the museum will be held in March 2018, and the facility is scheduled to open in Spring 2020.

Marion F. Moore, president of Century 21 The Moore Group, was recognized for creating affordable housing and employment opportunities for the citizens of Orangeburg and surrounding communities.

Johnnie Wright Sr., chairman of Orangeburg County Council, was cited for being a stalwart for community service that enhances the lives of Orangeburg County residents.

"We are extremely fortunate to have elected officials, civic leaders and representatives from the non-profit sector in our community who are committed to improving the social, economic and educational conditions of residents of the state and the region," Tisdale said. "Each of these recipients are very deserving of this special recognition."