One day after town elections were held throughout The T&D Region, a winner was named for seat 7 on the Orangeburg Consolidated School District 3 board.

No candidate filed for seat 7, so it had to be filled by a write-in candidate. Voters cast 67 write-in ballots on Tuesday.

After tallying the votes Wednesday, Kenneth Hilliard was discovered to be the winner with 39 of the votes.

Orangeburg County Director of Voter Registration Aurora Smalls said the winner had to be verified as a resident in District 3 and a registered voter.

Smalls said she believes Hilliard will agree to serve. He filled out paperwork prior to the election.

Final vote certification for Orangeburg County will take place at 11 a.m. Thursday at the County Administration building.

In Bamberg County, vote certification for Ehrhardt’s election will take place at 10 a.m. at the Kearse Agriculture Building, 847 Calhoun Street, Bamberg.

The county does not handle Govan’s town election.

Govan Mayor Wilma Edmonds won re-election automatically as she ran unopposed.

One at-large seat on town council was up for election.

Kay Epperson won the seat with 15 votes. Losing to Epperson were Bobby Sail with 13 votes, Willie-Mae Daniels with 12, Ashley Banks with 12, Mike Epperson with 4 and Charles Jones with 4.

Edmonds said the votes will be certified at the Monday evening council meeting at 7 p.m. at the Govan Fire Department.

Calhoun County had a tight race in the town of St. Matthews.

In the town council race for the District 1 seat, challenger Linda Archie-Simmons received 36 votes to incumbent councilmember’s Aleen Floyd’s 35 votes.

Director of Voter Registration Shayla Jenkins said a recount of the votes will be performed before certification.

Certification will take place at 2 p.m. Thursday at the Calhoun County Courthouse Annex.

Contact the writer: or 803-533-5516.


Government Reporter

John Mack is a 2016 graduate of Claflin University. He is an Orangeburg native.

Load comments