Votes from Tuesday’s general election were certified Thursday.

In Orangeburg County, Director of Voter Registration Aurora Smalls said one vote was added for the District 4, Seat 1 position for Joe Garvin but no results were changed. He was unopposed and re-elected.

No one challenged any votes, either.

In Calhoun County, the St. Matthews town council race for the District 1 seat saw a tight finish.

Challenger Linda Archie-Simmons received 36 votes, beating out incumbent councilmember Aleen Floyd’s 35 votes.

Director of Voter Registration Shayla Jenkins said a recount was performed. The count remained the same and received certification.

There were no challenges.

Bamberg County was only able to certify votes for the town of Ehrhardt.

Mayor William C. Stanley won, receiving 52 votes to challenger Frank Boardman’s five votes.

After certification, Bamberg County Director of Voter Registration Patti Jeffcoat said, “not a thing changed.”

No one challenged the votes.

The final certification will be for the town of Govan, which handles its own elections.

The town will certify its votes at the Monday evening council meeting at 7 p.m. at the Govan Fire Department.

Contact the writer: or 803-533-5516.


Government Reporter

John Mack is a 2016 graduate of Claflin University. He is an Orangeburg native.

Load comments