Punt, Pass, and Kick Winners, 1968: Ford Motor Company sponsored a youth football program entitled “Punt, Pass, and Kick” in the 1960s. It entailed age brackets for ages 8 through 13 years old, where each contestant received so many points for the length of each of their punts, passes, and kicks with the football. Awards were given for the top three finishers in each age level. The winners of each age level then went on to regional competitions, followed by state, and national regions, to where the finalists competed on live television at a National Football League game. Ford Motor Company provided the financial assistance for the trophies, local and state directors’ expenses, and travel expenses for the finalists. Coach Melicue Metts was the Orangeburg coordinator for this outstanding program. Pictured above are the Orangeburg winners in 1968. First Row: Jack Crumpton, Gene Jackson, Horace Wood. Second Row: Kenneth Leary. Third Row: Barney Houser, George Barber, Gary Baldwin, gap for trophy table, Max Runager, Bill Moore, Jackie Miller. Fourth Row: Malcolm Montgomery, Norman Harrison, David Fairey, Bruce Rheney, Robert Bonnette, Lewis Rast, Pat Runager, Jay Jackson, Tim Zeigler. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.