Berry’s on the Hill Restaurant, circa 1960: Berry’s on the Hill restaurant was an Orangeburg fixture for many years. Mrs. Willie Berry started this iconic restaurant in 1946 on Summers Avenue across from the hospital, but moved to the new John C. Calhoun Drive thoroughfare in 1956 as seen above. Her restaurant was widely known along the entire east coast. The quality and tastefulness of the food served there was lauded far and wide. Picture courtesy of the Orangeburg County Historical Society and provided by Dr. Gene Atkinson.